IUCN Red List

The World Conservation Union [IUCN], releases a Red List of threatened and endangered species every 5 years. The data is gathered and evaluated by accredited organisations, and gives information on species numbers, distribution and conservation status, i.e. relative risk of extinction.

The up-to-date list was released last week, and has revealed 17 different species of Great Ape as threatened; 11 species of Gibbon, 2 species of Orangutan, 2 species of Gorilla, the Bonobo and the Chimpanzee. Out of these, 4 are critically endangered, 6 are endangered, 3 are low risk and 3 are vulnerable. The main factors in these species decline has been habitat loss due to human intervention, and over-exploitation such as the illegal pet and bushmeat trades.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: